The Clounagh Arch was a small steel construction.
“There was a fairly decent supply of flags in the town and on the line of route of the procession on Saturday. One of the arches, perhaps the Edenderry one was the most admired by the visitors, but that at Clounagh corner also received a due share of praise. A very neat arch was displayed at Clounagh Cottages on the Armagh Road. The Inscription on one side was ‘Clounagh Welcomes you‘ and on the other ‘1690-Nuff Said-1916’.”
31st August 1923
In 1981 a committee was formed with the intention of erecting an Arch in Rectory Estate. The Committee members collected weekly from the local residents and a new Arch was erected in time for the July celebrations in 1982.
After the Drumcree Stand off in 1995 and 1996, the committee decided to refurbish the Arch and incorporate Drumcree Parish Church into the design.
Following the death of Worshipful District Master Harold Gracey, the decision was taken to include Harold’s picture on the Arch.
In 2016, the Arch was again refurbished and this time dedicated as the Harold Gracey Memorial Arch.
Harold joined Edenderry Junior LOL 51 at the age of seven. He was greatly influenced by his uncle, Brother Albert Greenaway, who was a member of LOL 322 and a District Lecturer.
At the age of sixteen, Harold joined Wingfield Verners Crimson Star LOL 25 and in 1954 gained his Lecturers Certificate. It was presented to him by Worshipful District Master, Dr George Dougan. The following year he received his Royal Arch Purple Lecturers Certificate. Harold first became a Lecturer in LOL 25 and a number of years later he was appointed District Lecturer for Portadown District LOL No 1.
When Brother Gracey was visiting Lodges he became well known and respected by all. In 1986 Harold became Worshipful District Master of Portadown LOL No.1 and was a popular choice of the Brethren.
Harold took over at an extremely difficult time for Portadown District due to the controversy over the Obins Street parades. Harold did not flinch facing problems and brought calm to many difficult situations.
The Drumcree Church Parade by Portadown District LOL No.1 was first stopped in 1995 at Police lines. There Harold famously said:
“The Brethren of Portadown will not be moving, let it be hours, let it be days or weeks until they can walk the traditional route”.
Thousands of people flocked to Drumcree. The support was not just for Portadown District but also for Harold Gracey.
In 1996, there was a further standoff, but again Harold Gracey stood firm. The Church parade was given the go ahead in 1997, but worse was to come in 1998. This time the Government did not back down, but neither did Harold. Harold moved into a caravan at Drumcree during the Siege.
Harold was WDM of Portadown District from 1986 until his death in 2004. He is not just one of the most famous Orangemen of the long history and heritage of the District, but he is regarded by Orangemen throughout Ireland and further afield, as one of the greatest Orangemen of the 20th Century.